“This competition is such a wonderfully creative way to remind people how precious the sense of sight is.”
Ita Buttrose, Head Judge

Change text size Make Text Smaller Make Text Larger Reset Text Size


There are four categories for this competition. You must select the appropriate category box when you submit your entry online.
Open - General Public category
Australian residents who are 18 years and over can enter this category.


Macular Disease Community category
Entry is restricted to Australian residents over the age of 18 who live with macular disease and their family, friends and carers.


Healthcare Professional category
Entry is restricted to Australian residents over the age of 18 who work as a healthcare professional, including optometrists, ophthalmologists, general practitioners, complementary healthcare workers, nurses, pharmacists and pharmacy assistants.


Junior category
Entry is restricted to Australian residents under the age of 18 as at 18 October 2016. All entries in the Junior category must have permission from a parent or guardian to submit a valid entry for the competition as indicated in the entry form. The parental consent form must be completed and uploaded when entering. Alternatively, the signed form can be emailed (scanned), faxed or posted to Macular Disease Foundation Australia. Download the form here: Parental Consent Form
Entrants must only submit an entry in categories that they are eligible to enter. A maximum of five entries per category, per person, will be accepted.


Macular Disease Foundation Australia employees and board directors, the Promoter’s agencies and contractors involved in administering this competition and judges of the mEYE World Photographic Competition, and each of their immediate families are not permitted to enter the competition. Immediate family means parents, siblings, partners, children and grandparents.